~ New York Reporter In Town ~

Posting this here for those who might possibly miss the comment posted in thread #28.  I hope that as many family members as possible will consider contacting Rebecca ASAP.  It’s sounds like she has put a lot of effort into being able to come to JDP to hear your stories and about your loved ones.  Please consider taking advantage of this opportunity.

Just a reminder…..Paul Nixon with Kodiak Productions will be arriving with his team tomorrow.  He can be contacted at kodiakproductions@hotmail.com.

Rebecca, on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:44 PM Said:

Hello everyone,

I am a reporter from New York and I’m in Jennings right now. I write for women’s magazines and I heard about this story back in January or so and was outraged. What a tragedy for so many young women and their families. It clearly deserves a lot more attention than it has gotten.

I spoke with Brittany and some of the other family members back then. It took awhile to get an editor to agree to publish a story (for a lot of reasons that have nothing to do with its importance), but I finally got a thumbs up, so I’m working on a piece for a woman’s magazine right now. It will reach millions of readers –mostly women in the US — who will undoubtedly also be outraged.

Like you all, I think this story really deserves a lot more media attention, so I’m happy I’ll be able to provide some. The more the better.

While I’m here, I would love to meet with some of you who are involved with, or deeply caring about this case. If you’d like to meet/talk with me and my photographer (though you don’t have to be photo’d if you don’t want), please e-mail me ASAP at:

RLW31 (at) columbia (dot) edu

I would especially love to hear from anyone directly involved — as a family member, friend or accused person.

Brittany, this is a special plea to you since I’ve been trying to reach you with no luck. You’ve been so helpful, and I really want to connect with you while I’m here.

Thanks to everyone who can help.

Kodiak, my trip overlaps with yours for a few days, so I hope we have the chance to connect as well. It’s great that we might get this story out in our respective mediums.

Hope to hear from some of you.

Thanks again,

Rebecca

3 Responses

  1. YOU MAY BE INTERESTED IN LOOKING INTO ANOTHER CASE WHILE YOU ARE HERE. MY MOTHER’S NAME WAS SHELIA GAYLE COMEAUX. SHE WAS MURDERED AS WELL. BEATEN OVER 11 YEARS AGO, AND PASSED ON FOR OVER 10. IF YOU LOOK AT RELATED CASES YOU WILL FIND INFO ON HER. I WOULD BE VERY INTERESTED IN MEETING WITH YOU WHILE YOU ARE HERE. NOTHING SEEMS TO BE SOLVED IN HER CASE. I FEEL THE MORE PEOPLE WE GET INVOLVED THE BETTER OUR CHANCES ARE OF GETTING CLOSURE FOR ALL THESE WOMEN.

  2. Said her visit was overlapping but did not say when nor where she would be. How would people know where or when. In any case Just Happy for Coverage.

    Shelia’s daughter, that’s it push and keep pushing. We are praying and supporting you.

    One little advice please all caps is screaming in ‘puter lingo and sometimes hard to read. You do have a right to scream.

  3. ahlou – She wasn’t specific as to dates, times or places but she did say contact her at her email address RLW31@columbia.edu

    Shelia’s Daughter – I did just get word to her that you would like to meet with her so you should hear something soon.

Comments are closed.